Raspberry Sorbet

 

Today I had lunch with a man that I consider a dear friend. He and I were in the same cohort during our MBA program and I would not be exaggerating when I say that I would not have made it through the program without him. He and I are in a similar place in life. We have just finished our MBA and half expected the entire to world to change the next day upon graduation. Not so much…

 

We have both recently started our careers as “bloggers.” What a scary world to jump into, but I can honestly say that I feel fulfilled and optimistic for the journey ahead. We talked today at lunch how our random thoughts and stories may actually be helpful to others out there in the world, and I must say that is the end goal. If just one person can identify with my life and all its craziness, then I have done my job.

 

I had a minor breakthrough today at lunch. This breakthrough has been bubbling inside me since this weekend. Most of my career has been in the beauty industry, specifically a personal care store that is in just about every mall in America. I began working there my sophomore year of college and quit during my first semester of my MBA program. No, I didn’t work there the ENTIRE time in that span, but a good chunk of my life was wrapped up in lotion land. There were days that I adored my job. I set goals for myself and quickly moved into a managerial role. I thrived as a store manager and loved my job. I quickly saw myself moving into a district manager role and getting my MBA would only quicken the pace. Again, not so much…

 

This weekend, my husband and I were shopping in lotion land to purchase a hostess gift for one of our close friends. I only shop in obscure locations where I know that the management staff does not remember me. Yes, this may seem a bit self-righteous, but I cannot shop at most locations without knowing someone. I just want to be a regular customer and not asked about my personal life or where I am working or why I haven’t had kids yet or am I coming back…Not too much to ask is it? I am getting to the point, I promise.

 

Our conversation today made me realize that I am the one holding onto “Ashley the store manager.” I am the one that still sees me in that role opposed to the creative analytic thinker that my management skills in conjunction with my MBA have helped me to become. I need to bury my career in lotion land. Yes, it morphed me into the manager that I am today, but it no longer defines me. It didn’t help me in getting my MBA. I did that all by myself.

 

Life is moving on and I am thinking of myself as a leader in the past tense instead of living in the present and realizing how accomplished I have become. To be a woman in business is hard enough, but to be a talented woman in business with an MBA and a background in the beauty industry is not common. That is what I am, and from this day forward I will own who I am. I will not look to the past, but be in the moment and looking forward to my next goal.

 

Thanks for listening…

 

Ash

 

PS-To reference my shades of pink, I use paint samples. Raspberry Sorbet is Valspar color 1001-1B. Just in case you wanted to know!

 

One thought on “Raspberry Sorbet

  1. I love this! You are such a smart, amazing women. Yes, “Lotion Land” helped mold you into a successful store manager, however, the leader in you has always been in you, the drive has always motivated you to succeed, and the beauty, well, you my friend have always been beautiful inside and out!
    Love ya!!
    Natasha

Leave a Reply

